Eress Forum 2018

Roma, Italy

Eress Award 2018

Deadline for submission of energy efficiency projects: Friday, April 6, 2018


The objective is to give international recognition to projects made by students from Universities around Europe, who have made systematic and innovative studies about how to efficiently use and preserve energy on railways and/or on trains.

The jury will be composed by 4 specialists.

Enno Wiebe: Senior Advisor on ERA and Research related issues, Community of European Railway and Infrastructure Companies (CER)
Mike Tatton: Principal Energy Engineer, RSSB (UK)
Hans-Erik Fogh: Key Account Manager, Banedanmark
Gisela Hinrichs: Programme Manager, SBB (Switzerland) 

They jury will select the 2 best projects to be invited to Eress Forum 2018, where the final winner will be chosen.

The 2 finalists will be invited to come to Eress Forum 2018 (travel expenses and accommodation included for 1 representative of each project), where they will be given a stand to show their projects with a Roll-up, or a poster. The participants of Eress Forum will vote for their favorite project and determine the final winner of the award, which will be announced at Eress Forum in Rome, on June 13, 2018. The winner will receive an Eress award and the project, its members and the university will be promoted at

The competition is open to all railway energy efficiency projects made by current and former students (undergraduate, Master or PHD candidates) from Universities across Europe during the last 3 years including 2015-2016, 2016-2017 and 2017-2018.


A summary of the project (explaining how the project can help the railway sector to save energy) needs to be sent in writing in English (max. 3 pages).

The judges will evaluate this preliminary information and choose the 2 best projects. These 2 last projects will be presented at Eress Forum by the applicants. The applicants will prepare a power point presentation of 10 mins. each.

The members of the Award Committee may ask for more information or data of the summary supplied.

The proposals need to specify the University where they come from, the names, contact details and education of the member(s) of the project(s), plus e-mail address of the responsible person who could be contacted in connection with the application for Eress Award.

All summaries of the projects to apply need to be sent latest by Friday April 6, 2018.

The proposals need to be sent to the following email address:



    • Platinum

    • Microelettrica.gif
    • SAIRA_hasler_new.jpg
    • Gold

    • Logo_OBB-Infra2011.jpg
    • Silver

    • LEM.jpg
Annual Magazine

Contact Eress by phone + 47 22 45 50 00.